top of page
Search

Lets talk Chicken...............

So i was reading an article, that said chicken is the most eaten meat in Ireland....

Well i cant say that i was surprised, its so versatile. What is it about this bird that makes it so popular Lets see top of the list is probably Roast chicken, Chicken curry, Chicken stew, chicken supreme, Chicken vol au vents, Chicken fajita wraps, Chicken dippers.......the list could go on forever. It doesn't take long to cook either and is readily available, kinda like spuds lol 😂.

We raised chickens growing up loads of them, I remember my Popa asked me to go and feed them, "don't go in" stand outside and they will come over to you........................ well you know me lol i went in, no big deal right!!!! Fed the chickens as i was told.

A lil bit later my head started to inch 😒. Popa came over and immediately knew "i had gone in" lol . soooo i washed my hair which was long and thick.. Popa spent most of the night picking out flees... Yep flees in my hair 😂😂, let just say i never went "in there " again. We also had 3 ducks, two pigs and one donkey lol we didn't eat the donkey or the ducks.

But back to the chicken!! How many of us now have chicken on the table for a roast on a Sunday or any day of the week?

Chicken curry is another quick and easy dinner, so many jarred sauces and pastes are available.

My nana always used a powder from Capetown SA. usually it was made with chicken wings, again i've no idea why it might have been because they were the cheapest cut.

So yesterday i made a roast Chicken dinner,

I seasoned the chicken with cajun spice after adding a lil oil rubbed into the chicken,

I cooked in the oven for about an hour and a half, skin was all crispy, I put the spud into the same oil, (i mean why waste all that flavour) I didn't time them, i just left alone to cook and go all crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. 😆😆🥔🥔

I served with gravy (bisto out of a box) and veg, mostly carrots. My lil bean loves Yorkshire puddings so we have them with any sort of roast dinner we have, So i plated dinners and well himself decided to drop his on the floor, Like honestly don't know how he did it so he ended up having a toasted sandwich.............. His own fault he should have been more careful... 😑🙄🙄






23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page